Fiji beach

Fidji

Drapeau

Population

910 000 habitants

Superficie

18 274 km2

Langue

Fidjien

Localisation


Source

Fidji est le plus grand pays de l’océan pacifique. C’est le centre politique du Pacifique sud, et la plupart des organisations regroupant les pays du pacifique y sont basées.

Un danger imminent

Bien que Fidji comporte 300 îles au milieu de l’océan, la plus grosse menace n’est pas la montée des eaux. En fait la plupart de ces îles sont des volcans donc elles ne risquent pas d’être submergées pour l’instant. Mais les cyclones deviennent de plus en plus violents et fréquents à cause du changement climatique.

En février 2016, le cyclone Winston a dévasté Fidji. C’était le cyclone le plus violent jamais enregistré dans le pays. De nombreux fidjiens sont morts ou ont été gravement blessés, et beaucoup d’autres ont vu s’envoler tout ce qu’ils avaient. Il ne leur restait plus rien.

Les Fidji ont des ressources naturelles limitées. Les conséquences d’un cyclone sont d’autant plus graves. Quand un cyclone s’abat, les habitants dépendent de l’aide humanitaire. Par exemple, cela prend plusieurs mois avant que les cocotiers produisent de nouveau des noix de coco.

Un rôle politique

Les nations du Pacifique sont de petits pays. Ils ont une force de frappe diplomatique limitée. Mais lorsqu’ils s’unissent, leur voix porte plus loin. Grâce à des organisations comme le Forum des Îles du Pacifique, ils ont pu défendre leurs intérêts lors de la COP21 à Paris. Cela a grandement contribué à la réussite des négociations.

Fiji beach

Fiji

Flag

Population

910,000 inhabitants

Land area

18,274 km2

Language

Fijian

Location


Source

Fiji is the biggest country in the Pacific ocean. This is the political center of the south Pacific, as it hosts the headquarters of most political organisations gathering pacific nations.

An imminent danger

Despite being a set of around 300 islands, the biggest threat to Fiji is not sea level rise. Indeed most of these islands are volcanic so they will not be underwater anytime soon.
But tropical cyclones are tragically threatening Fiji, and they tend to become more frequent and more violent due to climate change.

In February 2016, Winston hit Fiji. It was the strongest cyclone ever recorded in the country. Many people died or were injured, while others had their whole houses completely destroyed, and were left with close to nothing.

Fijians have limited natural resources, which makes the situation even worse. Indeed, when cyclones hit, the inhabitants are completely dependent on humanitarian aid. For instance, it takes several months to coconut trees to produce new coconuts.

A political role

Pacific nations are very small countries. Therefore, they have a limited diplomatic strength. But when they unite their voices can be heard. Thanks to organisations such as the Pacific Islands Forum, they were able to defend their interests at the COP21 in Paris, which was an important factor in the success of negotiations.